35/36 Week Bumpdate- The countdown is on! 👶🏼😱🤰🏻

This will be one of my last Maternity Monday posts, how crazy is it that i’m actually saying that?! I am going into the 36th week of pregnancy this week, baby boy is almost classed as full term and this time around it has flown over and the countdown is really on! We have three and a half weeks before my induction date when baby boy number 2 will be making his debut appearance into the world! I am so excited to meet him, introduce him to Alfie and complete my family. 

Since the last time I updated, there has been a few new things happening… First thing- I had a growth scan done because I had measured static for a couple of weeks, meaning baby was the same measurement at a couple of appointments instead of having gotten bigger. I was the same in Alfie’s pregnancy, always measured a few weeks behind. The scan showed normal growth and placenta/cord function which is amazing and baby was weighing in at approximately 4lbs 10oz at 33 weeks, which is lovely. His birth weight is estimated to be around the same as Alfie’s so the 6.5lbs-7lbs mark. Either way, as long as baby arrives safe and sound i’ll be happy! I have some tiny baby outfits as well as newborn ones to cover all weight ranges! Although Alfie was 6lbs 15oz, he hid his weight well, we had him in “ up to 5lbs” baby clothes for a while as nothing fit him, we didn’t believe his birth weight at first as he was so deceiving and looked a lot smaller than he was. 

👶🏼

I went to the hospital for my consultant appointment last week and we discussed my reasons for wanting another planned induction, and what date I would be coming in for it. I feel like that element of control helps me massively, having a plan, something to work with really helps with my anxieties. However, I am under no illusion that babies are the most unpredictable things ever so we’ll see if he stays put until his induction day! I have thought something maybe happening the past couple of days, I have been a bit crampy, feeling pressure and just generally different… Because I was induced with Alfie, i’m not really sure what to be expecting if I go into natural labour… I know what signs to look out for, but every twinge sets me off at the moment and i’m never sure if it’s the real thing or just my body getting prepared! 


Both consultant and midwives are happy with how baby is doing- he is measuring back on track for his gestation and currently in a head down, back to back position, which is fine but I would love him to turn and face the right way because i’ve heard some pretty crap back to back labour stories! I’m doing well in myself, all physical checks are fine and it is basically a waiting game now! 

👶🏼

We have everything ready for his arrival now, all the last little bits for the hospital bags are here and packed, so if anything does happen earlier, we are prepared for it (kind of!!). My biggest fear at this point, is going into labour at home if Mark is at work, or during the night when Alfie is sleeping in the next room, having to wait for someone to come over for him. My labour was quick first time around, and I think that is what freaks me out, not knowing what time frame we have to get to hospital! I am not exactly thrilled at the idea of pushing out a baby in the back of our car! 


My friend gave me a birthing ball to bounce on to try and encourage baby into optimal position, so i’ve been having a go on that and I think it’s also helping with the pelvic pressure and back pain as well so it’s win win! My back has been so bad during these past couple of months and any relief is welcomed right now! I’m always one for getting things prepared as much as I can, and trying things that may help this process along so I have researched quite a bit into the use of raspberry leaf tea in later pregnancy, and I drank it from about 36 weeks with Alfie and had a short pushing stage of labour, whether or not that was coincidental is another thing, but I thought I would give it a go this time to see if it makes a difference- who knows? For a first baby, Alfie was quick to arrive, so surely it’s worth a shot this time! A lot of people mistake it as an old wives tale for inducing labour, but from what I have read, it’s supposed to tone your uterus to prepare it for labour and make your contractions more effective, rather than start anything off so i’m drinking 2 cups a day hoping i’ll have a pretty fabulous uterus at the end of this! Little disclaimer here- It’s not for everyone though, so if you’re reading this thinking you’ll try it- check with your midwife first! 


Symptoms i’ve been having these past couple of weeks are…

  • Horrendous heartburn! Feel like a fire breathing dragon right now! 
  • Strong braxton hicks- the ultimate confusion for all pregnant women approaching D Day…
  • Constipation- There’s just nothing happening here, lets hope its not storing up and then I shit myself in labour! *Shock Horror*
  • Leg cramps- Didn’t have these with Alfie so they came as a shock, literally bolting up in the middle of the night unable to move my leg- they’re a real pain, literally. No pun intended. They are awful! 
  • Leaky boobs- Liquid Gold (Colostrum) is in production, may start expressing and storing some of it soon! 
  • Back/Pelvic Pain, explains itself really! 

That’s that for this week really, i’ll try to fit in another pregnancy update in two weeks time, that’s if I haven’t already popped and had little prince by then! Anyway, follow me on instagram for more regular, usually daily updates about what is happening in our chaotic, crazy world! If you have been following the pregnancy posts, thank you so much, it means the world to me and I hope you have enjoyed them! Until next week, take care of y’all! 
Much Love 

J

X💙X 

Author: AutumnLovingMamaBlog

Alfie's mama, currently pregnant with baby number 2 who is due in June 2017! I live with Bipolar Disorder and Anxiety. I'm from the UK and i'm a Mental Health Support Worker, follow me on social media to see more of us! 🍂🍁

Leave a Reply

